Even though cannabis is legal for recreational, adult-use in California, that doesn’t mean you can just spark a joint anywhere you go. Like any other regulated substance, there are rules and regulations surrounding where you can consume cannabis.
At Embarc Dispensary in Alameda, we believe it’s important to stay informed and up to date on cannabis laws so we can all enjoy our products without worrying about run-ins with law enforcement.
If you’re new to consuming cannabis, or you’re visiting from out of state, follow the laws surrounding purchasing, carrying, and consuming cannabis.
To make these regulations a bit clearer, we’ve created a brief guide, however, it’s always smart to check state and local websites to make sure you’re properly following the law’s guidelines.
California Cannabis Laws – What You Need to Know
California has guidelines and restrictions to follow when buying and consuming cannabis. So before you open Google to search for a “dispensary near me” inform yourself of the basic laws surrounding cannabis and keep your smoke sesh free of law enforcement.
Here’s a breakdown of the major cannabis regulations that consumers must abide by.
1. Individuals must be 21 or older to buy, possess or use cannabis. However, if you’re an Alameda resident with a medical card and valid ID, you can purchase cannabis at medical marijuana dispensaries at 18 years old.
2. Weed cannot be given or sold to anyone under the age of 21. Again, this law is adjusted for those 18 year olds who have legally obtained a California medical card.
3. You cannot consume cannabis in public, so think twice about passing that infused preroll in front of the Pacific Pinball Museum.
4. Driving under the influence of cannabis is illegal. There are trolleys, cabs, buses, trains, Uber and more available in the Bay Area. There’s no reason to drive while high.
5. It is illegal to bring cannabis across state lines. Do not buy weed in Alameda, California and bring it back to Texas with you. Even if your home state has legal weed, transporting products is still illegal.
6. Consuming weed in any form on state-owned land and national parks is illegal. Planning on spending the day sunbathing at Robert. W Crown Memorial State Beach? Opt for a gummy, don’t risk getting ticketed. Be smart and follow the laws.
Penalties for Breaking Cannabis Laws
Under the “Adult Use of Marijuana Act” there are several instances outlined where individuals can be subject to misdemeanors, felonies, fines, and jail time. Be smart and follow the laws. If you’re unsure if you’re within the legal limits, check online before getting yourself into trouble.
1. Possession: It’s legal to possess up to one ounce, or 28 grams of cannabis flower at any given time. However, if you are carrying more than the legal amount, you risk up to 10 days in jail and a $500 fine. If you’re carrying enough to be perceived as having the “intent to distribute” you risk landing yourself in jail for up to 6 months. That’s a pretty steep penalty, so make sure you’re carrying the legal limit at all times.
2. Sale or Delivery: It’s legal to gift someone up to one ounce or 28 grams of cannabis. You cannot sell cannabis without a proper license from the state, and doing so could cost you $500 or 6 months jail time. If you mistakenly gift or sell cannabis to a minor, it’s a felony with up to 7 years imprisonment.
3. Driving: It is unlawful to drive under the influence. Getting charged with a controlled substance offense could mean losing driving privileges.